top of page

Newbery Winners and Honor Books

2019 Medal Winner

Merci Suárez Changes Gears, ( J MED NEW) written by Meg Medina


Honor Books:.

  • The Night Diary,(J HIR) written by Veera Hiranandani 

  • The Book of Boy, (J MUR) written by Catherine Gilbert Murdock, illustrated by Ian Schoenherr

2018 Medal Winner: Hello, Universe (J KEL) by Erin Entrada Kelly 


Honor Books:

  • Crown: An Ode to the Fresh Cut, (J BAR Illustrated Fiction) written by Derrick Barnes, illustrated by Gordon C. James 

  • Long Way Down, (YA FIC REYNOLDS) by Jason Reynolds 

  • Piecing Me Together, (YA FIC WATSON) by Renée Watson 


2017 Medal Winner: The Girl Who Drank the Moon (J BAR) by Kelly Barnhill 


Honor Books:

  • Freedom Over Me: Eleven Slaves, Their Lives and Dreams Brought to Life by Ashley Bryan, (J 306.3 BRY) written and illustrated by Ashley Bryan 

  • The Inquisitor’s Tale: Or, The Three Magical Children and Their Holy Dog, (J GID) written by Adam Gidwitz, illustrated by Hatem Aly 

  • Wolf Hollow, (J WOL) by Lauren Wolk 

2016 Medal Winner: Last Stop on Market Street (J-P DEL) by Matt de la Peña 


Honor Books:

  • The War that Saved My Life (J BRA, J BRA SR “5th Grade”) by Kimberly Brubaker Bradley 

  • Roller Girl (J JAM Graphic Novel) by Victoria Jamieson

  • Echo by Pam Muñoz Ryan (J RYA) 


2015 Medal Winner: The Crossover (J ALE) by Kwame Alexander


Honor Books:

  • El Deafo (J B BELL) by Cece Bell (Amulet Books, an imprint of ABRAMS)

  • Brown Girl Dreaming (J B WOODSON) by Jacqueline Woodson (Nancy Paulsen Books, an imprint of Penguin Group LLC).


2014 Medal Winner: Flora & Ulysses: The Illuminated Adventures (J DIC) by Kate DiCamillo     


Honor Books:

  • Doll Bones (J BLA) by Holly Black 

  • The Year of Billy Miller (J HEN) by Kevin Henkes 

  • One Came Home (J TIM) by Amy Timberlake 

  • Paperboy (J VAW) by Vince Vawter 


2013 Medal Winner: The One and Only Ivan (J APP, J APP PBK) by Katherine Applegate 


Honor Books:

  • Splendors and Glooms (Ordered)by Laura Amy Schlitz 

  • Bomb: The Race to Build—and Steal—the World’s Most Dangerous Weapon (J 623.4511 SHE -summer- YA 623.4511 SHE) by Steve Sheinkin

  • Three Times Lucky (J TUR NEW) by Sheila Turnage 


2012 Medal Winner: Dead End in Norvelt (J GAN) by Jack Gantos 


Honor  Books:

  • Inside Out & Back Again (J LAI) by Thanhha Lai 

  • Breaking Stalin's Nose (J YEL) by Eugene Yelchin 


2011 Medal Winner: Moon over Manifest (J VAN) by Clare Vanderpool  


Honor Books:

  • Turtle in Paradise (YA HOLM, J.) by Jennifer L. Holm

  • Heart of a Samurai (J PRE) by Margi Preus 

  • Dark Emperor and Other Poems of the Night (J 811.54 SID) by Joyce Sidman, illustrated by Rick Allen 

  • One Crazy Summer by Rita Williams-Garcia 


2010 Medal Winner:  When You Reach Me  (J STE) by Rebecca Stead 


Honor Books:

  • Claudette Colvin: Twice Toward Justice  (J B COLVIN) by  Phillip Hoose 

  • The Evolution of Calpurnia Tate (J KEL)  by Jacqueline Kelly 

  • Where the Mountain Meets the Moon  (J LIN, J LIN PBK) by Grace Lin 

  • The Mostly True Adventures of Homer P. Figg (Ordered) by Rodman Philbrick

bottom of page